Inked Up

This post is in response to the Daily Prompt: Tattoo…You? Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?

I have a tattoo. One single, mono-color, lonely tattoo. Its located on my right thigh at the exact location my race shorts split in college. I know, it’s a cliché, a college runner with a leg tattoo, but I have one and it has a story.

The story starts back in my senior year of high school, I was 18 at the time and was rebelling a bit. Punk Rock music provided the back beat to my life, I wanted to get a piercing done, and most of all I wanted a tattoo. A big, full color tattoo, screaming that I was in control of my life. Luckily I didn’t have the money for one at that time. By the time I got to college, I was too consumed with running to worry about that tattoo.

Move ahead a few years in college and I had qualified for, and run at, the national level three times in a year and half but then decided to take a redshirt year in order to be able to run my final year of school. With out the distraction of traveling every weekend, I found Punk Rock again and ended up rebelling for a second time. As the phase progressed, I remembered how baldly I wanted a tattoo, and this time I had the money. That spring I finally decided it was time to ink up. I decided I didn’t want anything crazy or outlandish, I wanted to get something custom with meaning to me. I wanted to get a running tattoo because running had become very important in my life.

My tattoo represents my college and my success running there. The M stands for “Mines” and the crossed pix axes represent the toughness of the miners that my Alma Mater draws its rich heritage from. The location on the right side is on purpose. It faces out towards the crowds when I am running on a track and it sits right in the split of my racing shorts, which means it’s mostly only visible when I race.

The tattoo is a source of pride for me. It reminds me of all the good times and success I had while running it college. Back when I got it, the tattoo stood for something else, it still does in a way . The tattoo is not just a running tattoo, it’s a racing tattoo. When you see it, you know I mean business and you better watch out.

As seen on my leg...

As seen on my leg…

One response to “Inked Up

  1. That’s what they are meant to be – a source of pride, an acknowledgement of a special event in your life. You’ve got one that fulfills it’s reason to be.

Leave a Reply

