After The Storm

It has been barely over exactly two years to the day that I went on active duty status with the US Army. Time has been flying by, my life has been (sort of) dictated for me from sun up to sun down. I’ve done things I’ve never thought I would do in my life, I’ve been places that I didn’t know existed, and I’ve met some pretty cool people along the way. The only thing that hasn’t really changed is running, or a giant lack thereof.  I can count the timed races I have done on one hand since I have joined the Army, five, which is strangely the exact number of pairs of shoes I have had in the same time. Life has settled down now. I am really starting to like Cajun Country and the slow pace of life that comes with it. The food is absolutely amazing as well too. And for the first time in a while, I don’t think about running like I use to on a regular basis.

I find myself running three or four times a week now, usually around four miles. Nothing real serious, just when the world moves me to lace up my shoes and pound some dirt.  Speaking of dirt, I have moved most of my runs off the pavement onto dirt roads and trails because it just feels better. It feels better on my body and my mind. I find it a lot easier to let go and let my mind wander about and explore myself when I don’t have the constant distraction of curb and car. Life is good now.

I recently committed to running a relay race with some family and friends in Southwest Montana. Its going to kick my ass, but I will somehow make it out alive. (First leg is 9 miles up and over a mountain.) I plan on posting a few times about it and making an adventure page. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

