New Year’s Resolutions – 2015 Edition

Once again, it’s the start of another year. A fresh blanket of snow, a new chapter to start, a new stone to turn over, however you want to look at it, it is the time of year for renewal and restarts. After batting .500 on my resolutions from last year, I’m feeling pretty good about myself and am looking to raise the bar. So, to get started, below are my resolutions for this upcoming year.

1. Record 3,000 miles of activities on Garmin Connect – I got a new Fenix 2 Garmin Watch for Christmas, now the goal is to use it. I think between running and biking that 3,000 miles is more that doable, epically living in the South, I just have to get out and do it. With this goal and a new watch, I want to live track a few races and events, so stay tuned. I also plan on recording my life more digitally with photos and videos.

2. Add at least 5 states to the list of states I have run in since graduating college – I’m looking at you Texas, Arkansas, Mississippi, Alabama, and Georgia. In all seriousness, it’s time to start using some of my long weekends to go explore trails and races around the Deep South. I also currently have a race in California scheduled for the beginning of February, but we’ll see with work. I am also working on the logistics of coming home for a multi-day relay race though South West Montana in July, so there are plenty of items to check off my bucket list this upcoming year.

3. Have a running streak of at least 30 days, twice – I am aiming for having two complete months (or just 30 consecutive days) of running every day recorded on Garmin Connect. The uploads won’t lie and it’s a good way to keep myself honest. I am only aiming for two 30 day streaks because I have to plan around going to the field and not being able to run there, but I should have a couple of 30 day periods where I don’t go to field.

4. Volunteer more of my time – now to find something I can get behind. I really wish there was a group dedicated to the preservation of trails in West Central Louisiana. The trails could use a lot of TLC and since I like to use them, I would be more than happy to help take care of them. Also, I’m thinking about volunteering at the VA Clinic.

5. Master the art of cooking Cajun food and Southern food – I really love the food down in Louisiana, but I really need to learn how to make it for myself. I’ve already learned some basic Cajun dishes such as red beans and rice, but I want to try to make more. I also want to learn the Southern Classics and add them to my ever expanding culinary skill set. Also, after I buy a table, I want to host a few dinner parties.

6. Keep this blog up-to-date – Shouldn’t be too hard, as I have a lot of pre-prepped material that I can publish at a later date. I just need to avoid the long gaps that sometimes plagued me this past year. I want this blog to stay true to its roots and about rediscovering myself, but we’ll see.

So there we have it, 6 more for 2015. As always, I hope your last year was a good one and all the best wishes in the world for this next one.

Leave a Reply

