Run Up, Blog Down

My new Mizuno's

My new Mizuno’s

So it’s been a while since I last posted on here. I blame it on that I went into four week panic training mode to try and ramp up for a 10k in Fort Drum, NY.  (making it the 7th state I have run in since graduating college). I basically went into two-a-day mode, if you can count PT as a work out. I was running, working, and then running again. Not very much time for anything else. I also bought my first pair(s) of shoes since Christmas. (I still can’t believe that it was 6.5 months in the same pair)

New York was a whole different experience than running in Louisiana. First off, the average high for each day was about 20 degrees lower. Second, the humidity didn’t exist. Third, well I don’t know, but it was just better. From it being lushus green everywhere, to the many miles of trials I did not get to explore, and at least for a few days it felt like I was back in a runners paradise.

Lake Ontario

Lake Ontario

With feeling that the course was tailored made to my skill set (mostly paved and not many hills), I am really happy for how well I ran the 10k. Every mile was consistent and I felt strong over the last half of the course and it’s stairs hills. I finished in 37:15, or right a 6 minutes a mile. Although I finished 3rd overall, the big highlight was the team winning the competition in dominating fashion. We finished 1st, 3rd, 4th, and 7th to round out the scoring runners and the last two were in the top 15 as well.

After spending 4 days in New York, it was hard to go back to Louisiana for the remainder of the week. But it was made all better by the fact that as I’m writing this, I am on a plane home to my own running paradise. To a week of bliss in the mountains of Western Montana.

It’s going to be really hard to leave paradise this next time and head back to the heat of the Deep South, especially since I am thinking about training seriously for a half-marathon in December or January. (Quite possibly Baton Rouge again.) But, in the end, it must be done.

Leave a Reply

